WHRForums.com
June 19, 2013, 04:24:53 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Rules change. Signatures may contain up to 4 clickable links.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Websense attempting to hack WordPress blogs?  (Read 3888 times)
crazypenguin
Ex - New Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


WWW
« on: December 21, 2010, 10:42:08 AM »

Almost daily one of my websites is being attacked by an attempted SQL injection.  The IP is 208.80.194.34.  Interesting enough the IP resolves back to as13448.com or Websense.com.  When I go to the Websense website they claim they are an internet security company. 

Websense:
Quote
Websense Web Security solutions provide the industry’s best security against modern threats at the lowest total cost of ownership.

Even more interesting Websense discusses WordPress injections several times on their website one example is listed  below:
Quote
Websense® Security Labs™ ThreatSeeker™ Network has been monitoring the latest WordPress injection attack for over 2 weeks and has found over 250,000 injections occurring in the past half month. Moreover, over 37,000 URLs in the wild are still being injected according to our observations.

So what in the heck is going on here!?  Has anyone else heard of Websense attempting to hack a WordPress blog by SQL injection?
Logged
ldcdc
Administrator
Middleweight Reviewer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 495



WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2010, 03:13:13 PM »

I have no idea what this means. Did you try contacting them directly, and ask for an explanation of their actions?

They seem to be a serious company.  Huh?
Logged

crazypenguin
Ex - New Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2010, 05:12:38 PM »

I haven't contacted them.  I was curious to see what others thought about what I noticed.  Yes from their web appearance they seem to be a legitimate company.  Very interesting!  I will ask around a bit more concerning this situation to see what other people have to say.

Other IP's they have used are 208.80.194.26, 208.80.194.27, 208.80.194.28, 208.80.194.30, 208.80.194.33, 208.80.194.36, 208.80.194.47, 208.80.194.50, 208.80.194.51 which all lead back to 13448.com or Websense.com.  So it appears they are coming from the same IP block. They have been visiting my site since 09/01/2010.

I am not the only one having issues with as13448.com.
as13448.com traffic
How to exclude: .as13448.com
Is there a benefit in having as13448.com trawling my forum?
Content scraper or spam harvester bot 208.80.195.38
Websense and how to Block Web Sense’s Constant Abuse

For now I blocked the IP range 208.80.193.26/59.  I will see what that does for me.  It looks like I made a new internet friend.  Grin  After I do some more investigating I think I will write a blog post on Websense.
Logged
WebHostBuyer
New member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2011, 02:02:55 PM »

crazypenguin- The worry about WordPress sites constantly being hacked is something everyone with a WordPress should be concerned about. From the stuff I have read over the years it has to do with a few vulnerabilities  that when you think about them make perfect sense:

One has to do with the ever-present default admin being the primary user website builder, the answer (or solution to this problem although being presented as being simple) has sent me into a frenzy and deleting almsot every single sql user associated with my WordPress sites. Needless to to say this type of "cure"was far worse than the problem!

Perhaps this "security" company is legit as ldcdc pointed out, and this is simply their way of doing the research for the development of their producr?

 
Logged
WebHostBuyer
New member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2011, 02:03:20 PM »

product?
Logged
crazypenguin
Ex - New Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2011, 03:47:51 PM »

Perhaps this "security" company is legit as ldcdc pointed out, and this is simply their way of doing the research for the development of their producr?

Any entity which is attempting a SQL injection and is aggressively probing my site with bots is not welcome.  It doesn't matter if they are a security company, masquerading as a security company, or some low life running kiddie scripts.  Such practices are immoral and unethical IMO.  And I will take all measures to keep them from harming my sites.

For now I have blocked the entire IP 208.80.193.xxx range.  Installing a plug in called Bad Behavior may have been effective to keep such pests at bay  also.

I haven't sent an inquiry to Websense asking them what their intentions were with their actions.  I, probably, should as I feel an explanation is in order for their practices.
Logged
crazypenguin
Ex - New Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


WWW
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2011, 03:48:34 PM »

product?

What are are you asking?
Logged
Nilsons
New member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9


WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 02, 2011, 04:27:58 AM »

havent noticed any such attacks on my WP blogs yet and that company (websense) seems to be a decent one.
Try getting some solution from them or take some help from some expert
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.188 seconds with 18 queries.